President: Lynn Chandler Willis

Lynn is an award-winning, best selling author of the true crime book, Unholy Covenant, and fiction titles The Rising, Wink of an Eye, and the Ava Logan mystery series. Her upcoming projects include Raynor Beck, a PI series set on the NC Outerbanks, and Emily Gayle, an FBI agent battling crime deep in the Appalachian mountains. Both series are scheduled for release in Fall 2022. Lynn is the past president of Murder We Write/Triad Chapter of Sisters in Crime, past president of Piedmont Authors Network, a member of the Authors Guild, and has served in various board and volunteer roles for the Southeast Chapter of MWA. She recently joined the fun at the The Stiletto Gang as a regular blogger. She lives on a farm in the Triad region of North Carolina with her border collie, Finn, and a calico kitty named Jingles. You can visit her website at

Vice President: Roger Johns

Roger Johns is a former corporate lawyer, retired college professor, and the author of the Wallace Hartman Mysteries from St. Martin’s Press/Minotaur Books: Dark River Rising and River of Secrets. His short fiction has been published by Saturday Evening Post, Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, the Mystery Weekly Magazine, Dark City Crime & Mystery Magazine, Yellow Mama, and Viral Literature: Alone Together in Georgia. He is the 2018 Georgia Author of the Year (Detective·Mystery Category), a two-time Finalist for the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award, and runner-up for the 2019 Frank Yerby Fiction Award. Roger’s articles and interviews about mystery writing and career management for new authors have appeared in Career Authors, Criminal Element, Killer Nashville Articles, the Southern Literary Review, Writer Unboxed, and Southern Writers Magazine. He belongs to the Atlanta Writers Club, the Short Mystery Fiction Society, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. Roger currently serves as the 2021-23 Vice President of the Southeastern Chapter of Mystery Writers America, and along with several other crime fiction writers, he coauthors the Murder Books blog at Visit him at:

Treasurer: Robert Mangeot

Robert Mangeot lives in Franklin, Tennessee with his wife and cats. His short fiction appears here and there, including ALFRED HITCHCOCK’S MYSTERY MAGAZINE, MYSTERY WEEKLY MAGAZINE, the MWA anthology ICE COLD, and the Anthony-winning MURDER UNDER THE OAKS. His work has been a Derringer Award finalist. He’s the current chapter president for Sisters in Crime Middle Tennessee. When not writing, he can be found counting things. And when he’s not doing any of that, he’s wandering the snack food aisles of America or France. Visit Bob at

Secretary: Linda Lovely

Linda Lovely is the author of 9 published mystery/suspense novels, including humorous cozies, romantic thrillers, and a 1930’s era suspense novel.  With Neighbors Like These, the first of Lovely’s new HOA Mysteries set in the South Carolina Lowcountry, debuted in 2021. Level Best Books will release the second title in early November, 2022. To learn more, visit Lovely’s website: and sign up for her “Once-in-a-While” newsletter or touch base with her on Facebook ( ).


Eastern Area Rep (NC, SC, GA): Paula Gail Benson

A legislative attorney and former law librarian, Paula Gail Benson’s short stories have appeared online in Kings River Life and the Bethlehem Writers Roundtable, and in print in Mystery Times Ten 2013, A Tall Ship, a Star, and Plunder, A Shaker of Margaritas: That Mysterious Woman, and Fish or Cut Bait: a Guppy Anthology. With Robert Dugoni, she wrote “A Matter of Honor,” which appears in Killer Nashville Noir: Cold-blooded. Currently, she serves as President of the Palmetto Chapter of SinC. She regularly blogs with others about writing mysteries at the Stiletto Gang and Writers Who Kill. Her personal blog is Little Sources of Joy and her website is

Western Area Rep (TN, MS, AL): Valerie Burns

V.M. (Valerie) Burns was born and raised in the Midwestern United States. She currently resides in the warmer region of the country with her two poodles, Kenzie and Chloe. Valerie is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Dog Writers of America, Crime Writers of Color, International Thriller Writers, and Sisters in Crime. Valerie is also a mentor in the Writing Popular Fiction MFA program at Seton Hill University. Readers can visit her website at



Immediate Past President: Debra Goldstein

Judge Debra H. Goldstein is the author of One Taste Too Many, the first of Kensington’s new Sarah Blair cozy mystery series. She also wrote Should Have Played Poker and 2012 IPPY Award winning Maze in Blue. Her short stories, including Anthony and Agatha nominated “The Night They Burned Ms. Dixie’s Place,” have appeared in numerous periodicals and anthologies including Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, Black Cat Mystery Magazine, and Mystery Weekly. Debra serves on the national boards of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America and is president of SinC’s Guppy Chapter and the Southeast Chapter of MWA. Find out more about Debra at .

PR and Promotions Chair: Diane Kelly

Diane Kelly writes stories that feature feisty female lead characters and furry four-footed sidekicks. Diane is the author of over 30 novels and novellas, including the Death & Taxes, Paw Enforcement, House Flipper, Busted, and Southern Homebrew series. Find Diane online at, on Twitter and Instagram @DianeKellyBooks, and on Facebook at her Author Diane Kelly page.